Khmernews

Voice on the street of Svay Rieng’s residents

Posted by khmernews on April 9, 2009

On 23-24 February 2009, the task force of the Open Forum of Cambodia (OFC) organized a voice on the street program to interview the Svay Rieng province people to share information of the Khmer Rouge trial process.

Voice on the street is an interview created to seek general point of views occurring to them under the Khmer Rouge regime and to link the Khmer Rouge trial process of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC), also known as Khmer Rouge tribunal, established by the Royal Government of Cambodian and the United Nations.
Bo Roeun, 67, lives Kruos village, Kruos commune, Svay Chhum district, Svay Rieng province told the task force of the Open Forum of Cambodia (OFC), “In the Khmer Rouge regime, lost six members of my family,” adding, “In the regime, I was not evacuated to anywhere. I was living in my homeland. Khmer Rouge used me to do a lot work – like raising dung to make fertilizers.”

She urged the Khmer Rouge tribunal to render justice to her and other victims of the regime brutally killed.

Bpn Sam On, 33, chief monk of Kruos monastery located in Kruos village, Kruos commune, Svay Chhum district, Svay Rieng province told, “In the Pol Pot era, I was young. I was not a ware of anything because I was born 1975. But my parents had told me that my family lost two cousins and a daughter.”

He adds, “The Khmer Rouge regime was the cruelest. Ashes kept in the monastery can be evidence. Under the regime, my family was not evacuated to any far distance. Khmer Rouge got my family to live collectively and used my family to dig cannel.”

Ken Sineng, 53, living in Ramduol village, Brasoth commune, Svay Rieng province, told, “In the Pol Pot era, I was evacuated to Kandal province’s Kandal Stueng district. At the time, Khmer Rouge brutally tortured me – I had not enough food to eat, working without break time. They took people to be killed arbitrarily because I saw it with my own eyes. They used hoe base to kill people.”

According the victims, “Today, they are get knowledge of the Khmer Rouge leader trials via radio, television, and workshop participation. The interviewees want to Khmer Rouge court to imprison those former Khmer Rouge leaders for lives.

The victims request the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC), or known as Khmer Rouge tribunal, to speed up this trial because they are ageing persons and could die before standing trials. The mystery has not been revealed yet.

Organized by: The Open Forum of Cambodia (OFC)
“Voice on the street”, done in Svay Rieng province – Monday-Tuesday, 23-24 February 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
