Khmernews

Case Study2: Gender and Education in Cambodia

Posted by khmernews on November 13, 2006

Ms. Raksmey –a 24-year old Sales and Marketing Executive of a private company, is an example of how education impacts women’s life.

Along with her job, Ms. Raksmey runs a youth club called Solidarity for Peace and Development (SPD). Ms. Raksmey says “I was living with my grand parents. I had to finance my study by my own. I worked and studied simultaneously. It was hard for me to work and study together. But I was determined to continue my study and finally I completed bachelor degree. Now I work as an Executive. I am successful in my profession. I have overcome the traditional Khmer proverb “ Satrey bangvel changkran min chum”. She urged the schoolgirls to complete their schooling at least until secondary so that they can have better life opportunities in the future.

Extracted from:
-Gender View: Gender and Education in Cambodia,  #02  March- April 2006, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

 
