Khmernews

Case Study1: Gender and Education in Cambodia

Posted by khmernews on November 13, 2006

“ I cannot continue my study because my family is poor” –says Chenda, a 16-year old girl and former outstanding student of Baphnom High School in Prey Veng province.

Chenda left school after Grade VIII because of poverty. She says, “ I could not go to school regularly because my family had no money to buy school uniform, study materials, and pay fees for private school. I worked for family support. I worked in lands of others with my mother in doing farming activities and earned 4500 Riel a day to support my family and study of my younger brother.” By this time, her mother became sick. Chenda and her sister moved to Phnom Penh in April, this year for better living of the family and support medical treatment of her sick mother.

She continues to say, “I wanted to continue my study and dreamt for a bright future. Knowledge will give me with strong self-confidence. But I am not in a position to return to my study. If I return, my family will be in troubles, my brother can not continue his study, and health of my mother will deteriorate further.”

Extracted from:
-Gender View: Gender and Education in Cambodia,  #02  March- April 2006, Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

 
